Congratulations to the 2019 Award Winners

Award talks and presentation are scheduled as plenary sessions throughout the conference program (see below for dates & times).


Jennifer Van Eyk
Cedars Sinai
Medical Center

Juergen Cox
Max Planck Institute
for Biochemistry

Wilhelm Haas
Mass General
Harvard Medical School

Catherine E. Costello
Boston University
School of Medicine

Donald F. Hunt
in Proteomics Award

Mon, March 4, 8:30 am

Gilbert S. Omenn
Proteomics Award

Tues, March 5, 8:30 am

Robert J. Cotter
New Investigator Award


Tues, March 5, 8:30 am

Lifetime Achievent
in Proteomics Award

Wed, March 6, 11:10 am

Donald F. Hunt Distinguished Achievement in Proteomics Award

The Donald F. Hunt Distinguished Achievement in Proteomics award recognizes a focused or singular achievement in the field of proteomics. Eligibility is restricted to members of US HUPO. Nominations will be held for three years.This award is fully supported by the Journal of Proteome Research (JPR) and was established to recognize Prof. Hunt's significant contributions to the field of proteomics. Prof. Hunt was honored as the first recipient of this award which now bears his name. The award recipient will be honored at the US HUPO annual conference with a commemorative plaque, cash award of $2,500, and will present a plenary lecture on Monday morning at the meeting (40-min talk).

This award is fully funded by 

Jennifer Van Eyk, 2019 Recipient

Dr. Van Eyk has a longstanding record of excellence in applying cutting-edge analytical technologies to address clinically relevant biological hypotheses and in translation into clinical therapies or diagnostics. Dr. Van Eyk is a Professor of Medicine at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. In keeping with her research mission of bringing discovery to patient care, Dr. Van Eyk serves as Director of the Basic Science Research in the Barbra Streisand Woman’s Heart Center, Director of the Advanced Clinical Biosystems Research Institute, and  most recently co-director of the Cedars-Sinai Precision Health focused on in-hospital and population individualization of health care.  

Dr. Van Eyk is an international leader in the area of clinical proteomics and her lab remains focused on developing technical pipelines for de novo discovery and larger scale quantitative mass spectrometry methods. These encompass data dependent acquisition- and data independent acquisition-mass spectrometry methods for discovery, as well as targeted multiple reaction monitoring (MRM, also known as SRM). Her laboratory is recognized for the rigor it applies to technical quality, control, and reproducibility of increasingly complex datasets that can address key clinical questions with improvements in throughput to enable continuous assessments of large healthy cohorts and clinical grade assays focusing on brain and cardiovascular diseases. Her list of achievements includes more than 325 published articles, over a 20 patents, and numerous research and leadership awards. 


Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award

This award recognizes the essential nature of computational methodology and software in proteomics. Specifically, this award acknowledges the specific achievements of scientists that have developed bioinformatics, computational, statistical methods and/or software used by the proteomics community, broadly defined. The award is named in honor of Gil Omenn, a US HUPO Past President, leader of the Human Proteome Project, and influential proteomics researcher. The award recipient will be honored at the US HUPO annual conference with a commemorative plaque and cash award of $2,500, and will present an award lecture.



Juergen Cox - 2019 Recipient

Dr. Cox earned his Master’s degree in physics from RWTH Aachen University in Germany and received his PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in theoretical particle physics. He then worked at the Basel-based bioinformatics company GeneData and, after a postdoc at the Technical University of Munich, went on to work at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Munich on problems in computational proteomics. There he heads since 2014 the research lab for computational systems biochemistry. Dr. Cox has contributed greatly to the toolset of computational proteomics by developing the software platforms MaxQuant and Perseus which are in frequent use in the proteomics community. Dr. Cox has co-authored 126 peer-reviewed journal articles.

Past Recipients of the Computational Proteomics Award

  • 2018: Hannes Roest (University of Toronto)
  • 2017: Alexey Nesvizhskii (University of Michigan)
  • 2016: Brendan MacLean (University of Washington)


Robert J. Cotter New Investigator Award

This award was established to honor the memory of Bob Cotter, a founding member of US HUPO, for his many contributions to scientific research and for his legacy as a mentor to young scientists.  Each year, the award will be given to an individual early in his or her career, in recognition of significant achievements in proteomics, broadly defined. The award recipient will be honored at the US HUPO annual conference with a commemorative plaque, $2,500 cash award, and will present an award lecture.




Wilhelm Haas - 2019 Recipient

Dr. Haas is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) Cancer Center and Harvard Medical School in Boston.  He started his laboratory in 2013 and his research group focuses on advancing technologies in mass spectrometry-based proteomics and their application in disease-related basic and clinical research.  Born in Austria he did his undergraduate and graduate work at the University of Graz, Austria.  He then worked as a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Dr. Steven Gygi at Harvard Medical School, where, among other things, he worked on new technologies enabling multiplexed quantitative proteomics.  His lab at the MGH Cancer Center is using quantitative proteomics for global mapping of the dynamics of interactomes to study various questions in cancer research, including the search of biomarkers and novel drug targets to improve personalized therapies for cancer.

Past Recipients of the New Investigator Award

  • 2018: Leslie Hicks (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • 2017: Peter Nemes (George Washington University) and Christine Vogel (New York University)
  • 2016: Paola Picotti (ETH Zurich)
  • 2015: Bernd Bodenmiller (University of Zurich)
  • 2014 Judith Villen (University of Washington)
  • 2013 Rebecca Gundry (Medical College of Wisconsin)