Log in

Log in

Member Login (click on icon)

Past Recipients of the Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award

  • 2022: Eric Deutsch, Institute for Systems Biology
  • 2021: Nuno Bandeira, University of California, San Diego and Olga Vitek, Northeastern University
  • 2020: Jimmy Eng, University of Washington
  • 2019: Juergen Cox (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Munich)
  • 2018: Hannes Roest (University of Toronto)
  • 2017: Alexey Nesvizhskii (University of Michigan)
  • 2016: Brendan MacLean (University of Washington)

Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award

This award recognizes the essential nature of computational methodology and software in proteomics. Specifically, this award acknowledges the specific achievements of scientists that have developed bioinformatics, computational, statistical methods and/or software used by the proteomics community, broadly defined. The award is named in honor of Gil Omenn, a US HUPO Past President, leader of the Human Proteome Project, and influential proteomics researcher. Nominations well be held for three years.

Nominations for the 2024 year must be submitted by Monday, October 16, 2023. 

Current US HUPO membership.
The awardee must be available to present at the annual conference March 9-13, 2024 in Portland, Oregon to receive the award and present the lecture.

2023 Recipient: Bing Zhang, Baylor College of Medicine

Bing Zhang is a Professor of Molecular and Human Genetics at Baylor College of Medicine. His research encompasses the broad areas of bioinformatics, computational proteomics, proteogenomics, and cancer systems biology. During the past decade, he has established an internationally recognized research program in computational cancer proteogenomics, focusing on integrating genomic, epigenomic, transcriptomic, and proteomic data to gain a comprehensive understanding of human cancer. Together with colleagues in the Clinical Proteomic Tumor Analysis Consortium (CPTAC) and the International Cancer Proteogenome Consortium (ICPC), their studies on more than 10 cancer types have demonstrated that integrated proteogenomic analysis provides functional context to interpret genomic abnormalities, and that proteogenomics enables new advances in cancer biology, diagnosis, prognosis, and targeted and immunotherapies. The impact of Bing’s work is reflected in his publications and his inclusion on the Highly Cited Researchers 2022 list from Clarivate, placing his among world’s most influential scholars based on citations. His research group has developed multiple widely used bioinformatics tools. CustomProDB is one of the first computational proteogenomics tools, and its expansion into NeoFlow enables proteogenomics-based neoantigen prioritization. The pathway and network analysis tool WebGestalt has been serving the biology research community for 17 years. The LinkedOmics web application makes multi-omics data from CPTAC and TCGA directly available and useful to the cancer research community. He is a Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) Scholar, a McNair Medical Institute Scholar, an associate editor of Clinical Proteomics, and a member of the editorial board of Molecular & Cellular Proteomics.


1300 SE Stark Street, Suite 307

Portland, OR 97214, USA 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software