Log in

Member Login (click on icon)

Past Recipients of the Donald F. Hunt Distinguished Contribution in Proteomics Award

  • 2020: Steven Gygi, Harvard Medical School
  • 2019: Jennifer Van Eyk (Cedars-Sinai Medical Center)
  • 2018: Donald F. Hunt (University of Virginia)

Donald F. Hunt Distinguished Contribution in Proteomics Award

The Donald F. Hunt Distinguished Contribution in Proteomics award recognizes a focused or singular achievement in the field of proteomics. Eligibility is restricted to members of US HUPO. Nominations will be held for three years. This award is fully supported by the Journal of Proteome Research (JPR) and was established to recognize Prof. Hunt's significant contributions to the field of proteomics. Prof. Hunt was honored as the first recipient of this award which now bears his name. 

This award is 
fully funded by: 

Nominations are now closed for the year. Nominations will be held for three years. 


  • The nominee must be a current US HUPO Member.
  • The awardee must be available to present at the annual conference (March 7-10, 2021) to receive the award and present the lecture (virtually or in-person, pending the status of the COVID-19 pandemic).

Instructions and Deadlines

The award application must be completed in full to be considered, so please ensure you have all the required documents prior to submitting.

Please collate all materials, including the required supporting letters into a single PDF prior to uploading. The PDF should include the following documents:

  1. Short description from the nominator on the unique contributions made by the nominee (one-page maximum).
  2. List of key publications that support the contribution and nomination.
  3. Two letters of reference supporting the nomination.

The nomination form must be completed in its entirety to be considered. Incomplete applications will not be reviewed.

The deadline to submit a nomination is Friday, November 13, 2020. Late applications will not be reviewed. Award notifications will be sent to recipients and nominators on December 11, 2020. 

2020 Recipient: Steven Gygi, Harvard Medical School 

Biography: Steven Gygi received his Ph.D. from the University of Utah in Pharmacology and Toxicology performing small molecule mass spectrometry.  He went on to pursue postdoctoral work with Ruedi Aebersold at the University of Washington in 1996.  A revolution in biological mass spectrometry was occurring which allowed for the measurement of protein expression levels and a new field, Proteomics, was born.  In 2000, Dr. Gygi moved to Harvard Medical School and joined the Department of Cell Biology.  Currently, he is the faculty director of two MS core facilities (Taplin Biological MS Facility, and the Thermo Fisher Center for Multiplexed Proteomics—TCMP@HMS). Research in the Gygi lab centers around developing and applying new technologies in the field of mass spectrometry-based proteomics.  These include the systematic and proteome-wide measurements of many protein properties including their expression levels, modification states, structure, localization, function, and interactions.  For example, the Gygi lab, together with the Harper lab, is creating a genome-scale map of the protein-protein interaction landscape in cells (termed BioPlex).  In addition, sample multiplexing techniques like Tandem Mass Tags (TMT) are being improved to allow up to 16 proteomics samples to be analyzed simultaneously using high resolution mass spectrometry.

1033 SE Main Street, Suite 4
Portland, OR 97214, USA

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software