Log in

Log in

Member Login (click on icon)


Past Recipients of the Catherine E. Costello Lifetime Achievement in Proteomics Award

  • 2022:Catherine Fenselau, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • 2021: Brian Chait, The Rockefeller University
  • 2020: Ruedi Aebersold, ETH Zurich
  • 2019: Catherine E. Costello (Boston University School of Medicine) 

Catherine Costello Award for Exemplary Achievements in Proteomics

The Catherine Costello Award for Exemplary Achievements in Proteomics (formerly the Catherine E. Costello Lifetime Achievement in Proteomics Awardrecognizes an individual who has made significant discoveries and accomplished scientific achievements in the field of proteomics. In the spirit of Dr. Costello’s stellar career, efforts in mentoring and diversity, equity and inclusion are encouraged to be included in the application. Eligibility is restricted to US HUPO members who are >15 years in their profession and nominations of active researchers are encouraged. Nominations will be held for three years.  

Nominations for the 2024 year must be submitted by Monday, October 16, 2023. 

US HUPO members who are >15 years in their profession.
The awardee must be available to present at the annual conference March 9-13, 2024 in Portland, Oregon to receive the award and present the lecture.

2023 Recipient: Gilbert Omenn, University of Michigan

Gilbert Omenn is the Harold T. Shapiro Distinguished University Professor of Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics, Internal Medicine, Human Genetics, and Public Health at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. His research is focused on genes and proteins causing cancers and on big data in medicine. He led the global Human Proteome Project for the past decade. He is a co-founder of the 2020 Consortium on Clinical Characterization of Covid-19 using Electronic Health Records (4CE). He previously worked on biochemical genetics of the brain, environmental risks, health promotion/disease prevention for older adults, and science and health policy. He is author of 667 scientific and medical publications and editor of 18 books. He was a Research Associate with Nobel Laureate Christian B. Anfinsen at NIH, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator at the University of Washington (UW), Dean of Public Health at UW, member of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and CEO of the University of Michigan Health System. He served as a White House Fellow in 1973-74 at the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, Associate Director of the White House Office of Science & Technology Policy and Office of Management & Budget (1977-81), and President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2005-06). He was a member of the National Cancer Advisory Board, the Society of Fellows of the National Center for Minority Health & Health Disparities, and the Scientific Management Review Committee for the NIH. He chaired COSEPUP for the National Academies and the Presidential/Congressional Commission on Risk Assessment & Risk Management mandated by the Clean Air Act of 1990. He served on the boards of Amgen Inc. and Rohm & Haas Company. He currently serves on boards of the Hastings Center for Bioethics, the Center for Public Integrity, the Weizmann Institute of Science, biotech firms, and the Foundation for the NIH. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, the Association of American Physicians, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a fellow of the American College of Physicians, the National Academy for Social Insurance, and the AAAS. He received the John W. Gardner Legacy of Leadership Award from the White House Fellows, Walsh McDermott Medal from the National Academy of Medicine, and David E. Rogers Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges. He holds the BA from Princeton, MD from Harvard, and PhD in Genetics from the University of Washington. He is married to Martha Darling, White House Fellow ’77-’78. He has three children and eight grandchildren. He is an active musician and tennis player. He was among the founders and long-serving Council members of HUPO and the US HUPO and one of the early presidents of US HUPO. The US HUPO Computational Proteomics Award bears his name.


1300 SE Stark Street, Suite 307

Portland, OR 97214, USA 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software